About Us

Rosamunde Summer Music Academy

The Rosamunde Summer Music Academy offers a unique summer program to string instrument players from Winnipeg and beyond. We believe that the foundation of a strong community starts with the instruction and nurturing of our youth. Because no other program like this exists in the prairie region, Rosamunde increases the number of educational opportunities available to young musicians and encourages a higher standard of playing and teaching.

With each passing year, interest in the Rosamunde broadens. Rosamunde had its inaugural session in August of 2011 on the campus of Canadian Mennonite University (CMU). It was wildly successful: 60 students from across Canada, Mexico, and Brazil participated and filled our spaces to capacity. The sheer number of applications that we receive each year is testament to the demand for Rosamunde.

We feel strongly that music should be available to everyone and will continue to strive to give financial aid to deserving students who would otherwise be unable to attend. Rosamunde maintains a strong partnership with Sistema Winnipeg and sponsors approximately 10 Sistema students each summer.

Our students are greatly inspired by the chance to play for, listen to, and learn from some of the world's best. Our visiting artists regularly praise Rosamunde's positive atmosphere, inclusiveness, and high level of organizational excellence.

We continue to be guided by a vision for sharing our love of classical music, driven by a passion for education, and buoyed by a commitment to strategic financial planning and careful stewardship of our resources. With the support of our board, contributing foundations and granting agencies, sponsors and donors, we fully expect to be able to consistently realize our goal of welcoming Winnipeggers and visitors from more distant shores to a thriving oasis of music in the hottest part of the summer for many years to come!

The Board of Directors

  • Peter Hargraves: President
  • Sandra Roberts: Vice-President, Volunteer Coordinator
  • Andrew Behnke: Treasurer
  • Grant Klassen: Secretary, Media
  • Elation Pauls: Past President
  • Yuri Hooker: Member at Large
  • Phyllis Portnoy: Member at Large
  • Richard Goulet: Member at Large, Legal
  • Barbara Graham: Member at Large